Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Variety of Life by
The Variety of Life can be read at many levels. Not least it is an extraordinary inventory - an illustrated summary of all the Earthly creatures that have ever lived. Whatever living thing you come across, from E coli to an oak tree or an elephant, The Variety of Life will show you what kindof creature it is, and how it relates to all the others. Yet there are far too many creatures to present merely as a catalogue. The list of species already described is vast enough - nearly two million - but there could in reality be as many as 30 million different animals, plants, fungi andprotists - and perhaps another 400 million different bacteria and archaes. In the 4000 million years or so since life first began on Earth, there could have been several thousand billion different species. The only way to keep track of so many is to classify - placing similar creatures intocategories, which nest within larger categories, and so on. As the centuries have passed, so it has become clear that the different groups are far more diverse than had ever been appreciated. Thus Linneus in the 18th century placed all living things in just two kingdoms, Animals and Plants. By the1950s this had become five kingdoms - with fungi, protists, and bacteria hived off into their own, separate groups. But leading biologists today acknowledge three vastly different domains, each divided into many kingdoms - so that animals and plants, spectacular though they are, are just a fragmentof the whole. The Variety of Life explains the means by which systematists have attempted such a mammoth classification of so many various creatures - which in turn leads us into some of the most intriguing and knottiest areas of modern biology: evolutionary theory, molecular genetics, and thehistory of biological thought. Finally, however, The Variety of Life can simply be seen as a celebration. We should all share Miranda's pleasure in Shakespeare's Tempest - ' How many goodly creatures are there here!' - and feel, as she did, what a privilege it is to share this planet with suchwonders. Their fate is in our hands; and first, we must begin to appreciate them.
Call Number: 577 TUD
Publication Date: 2000-05-25
Tailored for the introductory microbiology laboratory course, the book features approximately 400 color photographs that demonstrate the results of laboratory procedures and show the morphology of important microorganisms. The photographs demonstrate the unique characteristics of common microorganisms and also their appearance after various stains and tests. Many of the photographs are labeled to point out important structures. The clearly written descriptions accompanying the photos helps students understand and, in some cases, achieve the results depicted in the photographs. The Atlas is appropriate for both majors and non-majors.
Call Number: 579 ALE
Publication Date: 2000-07-18
Essential Microbiology by
Essential Microbiology is a comprehensive introductory text aimed at students taking a first course in the subject. Covering all aspects of microbiology, it describes the structure and function of microbes before considering their place in the the living world. The second half of the book focuses on applied aspects such as genetic engineering, industrial microbiology and the control of microorganisms. Adopting a modern approach and with extensive use of clear comprehensive diagrams, Essential Microbiology explains key topics through the use of definition boxes and end of chapter questions. This book is invaluable for undergraduate students in the biological, food and health sciences taking a first course in Microbiology. comprehensive introduction covering all aspects of this exciting subject. includes numerous examples and applications from a wide range of fields. definition boxes, key points and self-test questions enhance student understanding.
Call Number: 579 HOG
Publication Date: 2005-07-22
Microbiology the Easy Way by
This book transforms a difficult subject into terms and ideas that every attentive student can readily understand. Major topics covered include: the microbial world, cellular chemistry, observing microbes through a microscope, microbial growth and reproduction, microbial genetics, bacteria, archaea, eukaryotic microorganisms such as fungi and protozoa, viruses, the disease process, epidemiology, antimicrobial drugs, practical applications of immunology, infectious diseases, and many others. The book includes charts, tables, and review questions with answers. Barron's Easy Way books introduce a variety of academic and practical subjects to students and general readers in clear, understandable language. Ideal as self-teaching manuals for readers interested in learning a new career-related skill, these books have also found widespread classroom use as supplementary texts and brush-up test-preparation guides. Subject heads and key phrases that need to be learned are set in a second color.
Call Number: 579 KRA
Publication Date: 2005-09-01
A Field Guide to Bacteria by
Bacteria are an integral aspect of every habitat in which they occur and affect the lives of humans, other animals, and plants in many ways. Too often, we equate bacterium with pathogen and think of bacteria as things to avoid. In a guide for naturalists, students, teachers and tourists alike, Betsey Dexter Dyer lets the reader know that it is possible to observe bacteria with all the senses. Many groups of bacteria can be easily identified in the field (or in the refrigerator) without a microscope.
Call Number: 579.3 DYE
Publication Date: 2003-04-03
Magical Mushrooms, Mischievous Molds by
Mushrooms magically spew forth from the earth in the hours that follow a summer rain. Fuzzy brown molds mischievously turn forgotten peaches to slime in the kitchen fruit bowl. And in thousands of other ways, members of the kingdom Fungi do their part to make life on Earth the miracle that it is. In this lively book, George Hudler leads us on a tour of an often-overlooked group of organisms, which differ radically from both animals and plants. Along the way the author stops to ponder the marvels of nature and the impact of mere microbes on the evolution of civilization. Nature's ultimate recyclers not only save us from drowning in a sea of organic waste, but also provide us with food, drink, and a wide array of valuable medicines and industrial chemicals. Some fungi make deadly poisons and psychedelic drugs that have interesting histories in and of themselves, and Hudler weaves tales of those into his scientific account of the nature of the fungi. The role of fungi in the Irish potato famine, in the Salem Witch Trials, in the philosophical writings of Greek scholars, and in the creation of ginger snaps are just a few of the many great moments in history to grace these pages. Hudler moves so easily from discussing human history to exploring scientific knowledge, all with a sense of humor and enthusiasm, that one can well understand why he is an award-winning teacher both at Cornell University as well as nationally. Few, for instance, who read his invitation to "get out of your chair and take a short walk" will ever again look without curiosity and admiration at the "rotten" part of the world around them. Magical Mushrooms, Mischievous Molds is full of information that will satisfy history buffs, science enthusiasts, and anyone interested in nature's miracles. Everyone in Hudler's audience will develop a new appreciation of the debt they owe to the molds for such common products as penicillin, wine, and bread.
Call Number: 579.5 HUD
Publication Date: 1998-10-18
Smithsonian Institution Animal by
Unrivaled in its breadth and visual impact, this unique guide sets out to illustrate, describe, and explain the incredible range of creatures that make up the animal kingdom. Exceptional Coverage. This authoritative volume starts with a clear introduction to the animal world, examining the reasons for the apparently infinite variety of animal forms and major evolutionary developments. Animal anatomy, life cycles and the principles of classification are also explored. This is followed by a superbly illustrated survey of world habitats, showing how they have adapted to each environment, and the threats that face both wildlife and plants today. The main part of the book, an up-to-date and comprehensive animal catalog, looks in detail at each major group and provides fascinating profiles of over 2,000 individual species. Visually Breathtaking. Spectacular photographic portraits bring a vast array of animals vividly to life, with special features on well-known and important animals such as the Galapagos tortoise. Each species profile is supported by maps and symbols showing distribution and habitat, as well as key information on size, population, and conservation status, forming an invaluable reference database. Outstanding Reference. Clear, comprehensive, and thought provoking, the Smithsonian Animal is essential reading for wildlife enthusiasts of all ages and levels of experience.
Call Number: 590 ANI
Publication Date: 2001-10-10
The Simon Schuster Encyclopedia of Animals by
Authoritative and beautiful, written by expert zoologists and illustrated with nearly two thousand original full-color paintings by the world's finest wildlife artists, "The Simon & Schuster Encyclopedia of Animals" is one of the most extraordinary references ever published. No other guide to the animal world combines such comprehensiveness, consistency of style, and elegance. This catalogue of the animal world depicts species in detail -- mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, and fish -- illustrating each in color, a stunning guide to the staggering diversity of vertebrate animals. Organized by the taxonomic categories of order, family, genus, and species, the text gives an overview of the characteristics shared by animals within each family. When a family's members are similar, the most typical and most interesting are depicted, with more species included for every dramatic visual variation. Each illustrated animal is described in detail, and every entry includes information on size, breeding patterns, feeding habits, intriguing adaptations and behaviors, common and scientific names, conservation status, geographic range, and h
Call Number: 590.3 SIM
Publication Date: 1998-11-02
A close look at past and present invertebrates, including sponges, jellies, worms, mollusks, and arthropods.
Call Number: 592 PET
Publication Date: 2002-09-01
Welcome to the Microbiome by
Revolutionary research is revealing how the trillions of microbes living on and in our bodies can keep us healthy . . . or make us sick Suddenly, research findings require a paradigm shift in our view of the microbial world. The Human Microbiome Project at the National Institutes of Health is well under way, and unprecedented scientific technology now allows the censusing of trillions of microbes inside and on our bodies as well as in the places where we live, work, and play. This intriguing, up-to-the-minute book for scientists and nonscientists alike explains what researchers are discovering about the microbe world and what the implications are for modern science and medicine. Rob DeSalle and Susan Perkins illuminate the long, intertwined evolution of humans and microbes. They discuss how novel DNA sequencing has shed entirely new light on the complexity of microbe-human interactions, and they examine the potential benefits to human health: amazing possibilities for pinpoint treatment of infections and other illnesses without upsetting the vital balance of an individual microbiome. This book has been inspired by an exhibition, The Secret World Inside You: The Microbiome, at the American Museum of Natural History, which will open in New York in early November 2015 and run until August 2016. It will then travel to other museums in the United States and abroad.
Call Number: 579.3 DES
Publication Date: 2015-11-10
I Contain Multitudes by
New York Times Bestseller New York Times Notable Book of 2016 NPR Great Read of 2016 Economist Best Books of 2016 Brain Pickings Best Science Books of 2016 Smithsonian Best Books about Science of 2016 Science Friday Best Science Book of 2016 A Mother Jones Notable Read of 2016 A Bill Gates "Gates Notes" Pick MPR Best Books of 2016 Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Books of 2016 Minnesota Star-Tribune Best of the Year A Kirkus Best Book of the Year A PW Best Book of the Year Guardian Best of the Year Times (London) Best of the Year Joining the ranks of popular science classics like The Botany of Desire and The Selfish Gene, a groundbreaking, wondrously informative, and vastly entertaining examination of the most significant revolution in biology since Darwin--a "microbe's-eye view" of the world that reveals a marvelous, radically reconceived picture of life on earth. Every animal, whether human, squid, or wasp, is home to millions of bacteria and other microbes. Ed Yong, whose humor is as evident as his erudition, prompts us to look at ourselves and our animal companions in a new light--less as individuals and more as the interconnected, interdependent multitudes we assuredly are. The microbes in our bodies are part of our immune systems and protect us from disease. In the deep oceans, mysterious creatures without mouths or guts depend on microbes for all their energy. Bacteria provide squid with invisibility cloaks, help beetles to bring down forests, and allow worms to cause diseases that afflict millions of people. Many people think of microbes as germs to be eradicated, but those that live with us--the microbiome--build our bodies, protect our health, shape our identities, and grant us incredible abilities. In this astonishing book, Ed Yong takes us on a grand tour through our microbial partners, and introduces us to the scientists on the front lines of discovery. It will change both our view of nature and our sense of where we belong in it.
Call Number: 579 YON
Publication Date: 2016-08-09